Bag Free Designation

First Steps for Healthy Babies, in partnership with the Ohio Breastfeeding Alliance and the Ohio Lactation Consultant Association, presented Maternity Care Best Practice Award 2021 Bag Free Recognition to hospitals for removal of free infant formula samples and formula company branded diaper bags and goods. This supports hospitals in progress towards practices that align with Baby Friendly USA certification requirements, as well as the overall goal of reducing infant mortality in Ohio.


About the Program

This recognition is for facilities that do not provide any formula company-sponsored gift/diaper bags, which often include formula and/or formula company-sponsored materials. This includes gifts with formula company logos, such as breastfeeding covers. Research has shown that distribution of formula marketing materials has been shown to decrease breastfeeding initiation and duration rates.

Click below to see previously recognized hospitals:
2015 Hospitals
2016 Hospitals
2017 Hospitals
2018 Hospitals
2019 Hospitals
2020 Hospitals
2021 Hospitals

OHA, Ohio Department of Health, Ohio Lactation Consultant Association and Ohio Breastfeeding Alliance are pleased to announce that the following hospitals have achieved recognition as being a “Bag Free” facility in 2022.


Adena Regional Medical Center
Atrium Medical Center
Aultman Orrville Hospital
Avita Ontario Hospital
Blanchard Valley Hospital
Cleveland Clinic Akron General Medical Center
Cleveland Clinic Fairview Hospital
Cleveland Clinic Hillcrest Hospital
Cleveland Clinic Mercy Hospital
Cleveland Clinic Union Hospital
CMH Regional Health System
Community Hospitals & Wellness Centers – Bryan Hospital
Fairfield Medical Center
Firelands Regional Medical Center
Fisher-Titus Medical Center
Fulton County Health Center
Galion Community Hospital
Genesis Hospital
Grand Lake Health System
Henry County Hospital
Holzer Gallipolis
Kettering Health Hamilton
Kettering Health Main Campus
Kettering Health Washington Township
Knox Community Hospital
Licking Memorial Hospital
Lima Memorial Health System
Mary Rutan Hospital
Mercer Health
Mercy Health – Anderson Hospital
Mercy Health –  Lorain Hospital
Mercy Health –  St. Joseph Warren Hospital
Mercy Health – Tiffin Hospital
Mercy Health – West Hospital
MetroHealth Medical Center
Miami Valley Hospital
Mount Carmel East
Mount Carmel Grove City
Mount Carmel St. Ann’s
OhioHealth Doctor’s Hospital
OhioHealth Dublin Methodist Hospital
OhioHealth Grady Memorial Hospital
OhioHealth Grant Medical Center
OhioHealth Mansfield Hospital
OhioHealth Marion General Hospital
OhioHealth O’Bleness Hospital
OhioHealth Riverside Methodist Hospital
OhioHealth Shelby Hospital
OhioHealth Southeastern Medical Center
Pomerene Hospital
ProMedica Bay Park Hospital
ProMedica Defiance Regional Hospital
Soin Medical Center
Southern Ohio Medical Center
Southwest General Health Center
Summa Akron City Hospital
Summa Barberton Hospital
The Bellevue Hospital
The Christ Hospital
The Christ Hospital Medical Center – Liberty Township
University Hospitals Geauga Medical Center
University Hospitals Lake West Medical Center
University Hospitals MacDonald Women’s Hospital
University Hospitals Portage Medical Center
University Hospitals Samaritan Medical Center
University Hospitals St. John Medical Center
University Hospitals TriPoint Medical Center
Upper Valley Medical Center
Wayne Healthcare
Wilson Health
Wood County Hospital
Wooster Community Hospital
Wright-Patterson Medical Center

OHA Contact

Ryan Everett

Ryan Everett

Director, Community and Public Health Programs