Ohio Hospital Newswire


Ohio Hospitals Earn Recognition through Breastfeeding Designation Program




Eighteen Ohio hospitals have earned new recognition through the latest round of the Ohio First Steps for Healthy Babies initiative sponsored by OHA and the Ohio Department of Health. Ohio First Steps is a voluntary breastfeeding designation program that recognizes maternity centers in Ohio for taking steps to promote, protect and support breastfeeding in their organization.

Hospitals are awarded one star for every two steps achieved in of the World Health Organization’s and Baby-Friendly USA’s Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding. Hospitals can earn a total of five stars.

The following hospitals have earned recognition in this round of the program. An asterisk indicates that the hospital has made strides in achieving additional steps since previous rounds of recognition. The complete list of recognized First Steps hospitals can be found here.

Five Star Hospitals
  • St. Luke’s Hospital*
Four Star Hospitals
  • OhioHealth Dublin Methodist Hospital*
  • Good Samaritan Hospital – Premier Health*
  • Miami Valley Hospital*
  • Miami Valley Hospital South*
  • Upper Valley Medical Center*
Three Star Hospitals
  • Fulton County Health Center*
  • UH Elyria Medical Center*
  • Wilson Health*
Two Star Hospitals
  • Cleveland Clinic Akron General Hospital*
  • St. Joseph Warren Hospital*
One Star Hospitals
  • Fairfield Medical Center
  • Henry County Hospital
  • Holzer Medical Center
  • Mercer Health
  • Mercy Health – Tiffin Hospital
  • St. Elizabeth Boardman Hospital*
  • UH Parma Medical Center
Hospitals participating in the program continue to earn additional stars for achieving new steps. The next round of applications for hospitals are due July 1. Questions may be directed to Ryan Everett at
© 2018 The Ohio Hospital Association. All Rights Reserved.