Home / Member Services / OHA Awards / Health Care Worker of the Year

Health Care Worker of the Year

The Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year Award is presented each year to one Ohio caregiver who personifies a leader, gives back to the community, reflects the mission and values of his or her organization and routinely goes beyond the call of duty.



OHA member hospitals are invited to submit nominations for the 2018 Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year Award by Feb. 2, 2018.

In addition to completing the online nomination, two digital photographs of the nominee must be submitted by the deadline:

  • Headshot - a front-on photograph of the nominee with minimal or no surroundings
  • Environmental - an action shot to show the nominee doing his or her job in the work setting. Photos that include patient interaction are encouraged. Please edit out any protected health information.
  • Photograph tips


  • Each hospital is permitted to nominate one individual who has not been nominated before. 
  • Health systems are encouraged to submit nominations from each of their hospitals but may select one nominee to represent the entire health system.
  • Eligible persons must be a current employee of an Ohio Hospital Association member hospital. The nominee should be a direct caregiver but that is not a requirement. Support personnel are also eligible if they exemplify the qualities represented by this award.
  • Physicians are not eligible to receive the award. If you would like to nominate a physician, please consider completing a nomination for one of the OHA Health Care Leadership Awards


Nominations are scored on the following criteria. A total of 80 points is possible. 
  • Summary (for use in keepsake publication and on the OHA website)
  • Great leader (20 points)
  • Goes beyond the call of duty (20 points)
  • Most notable achievements reflect the mission and values of his or her organization (20 points)
  • Gives back to the community (20 points)


All nominees are honored and celebrated during the OHA Recognition Dinner as part of the OHA Annual Meeting in Columbus. We do not announce the finalists or ultimate recipient until that special evening so all nominees are strongly encouraged to attend. The 2018 OHA Recognition Dinner will be held June 5. 



HCWY Finalists


Rebecca Daniels, RN, PCCN, NE-BC
Clinical Manager, Cardiovascular Stepdown Unit
The Christ Hospital
The Christ Hospital Health Network

"The common thread that runs through all comments regarding Rebecca is that she is a visionary. She took it upon herself to proactively create a clinical nurse leader position to work with open-heart patients and improve their experience and outcomes. In just the first six months, readmissions decreased by 75 percent. Rebecca’s grace, along with exceptional skill and unparalleled humility, is a combination that makes her staff fiercely loyal. Rebecca consistently gives back to others. She quietly paid a team member’s nursing tuition for one quarter. The Christ Hospital’s mission—to improve the health of the community and create patient value by providing exceptional outcomes, the finest experiences and affordable care—is something she lives each day."


Congratulations to this year's Health Care Worker of the Year Finalists:

  • Donna Beach, RN, clinical nurse manager, Outpatient Care Center - OhioHealth Grant Medical Center
  • Robin Charney, outreach coordinator, Oncology - ProMedica Flower Hospital
  • Scott Garner, RN, ED, MEd, CES-ACSM, program coordinator, Cardiac Rehab; heart failure specialist; diabetes educator - Mercy Health - Willard Hospital 
  • Lisa Jasin, DNP, MS, RNC-NIC, NNP-BC, neonatal doctoral nurse, Dayton Children's Hospital
© 2018 The Ohio Hospital Association. All Rights Reserved.