Home / Member Services / OHA Awards

OHA Awards

Each year, the Ohio Hospital Association celebrates outstanding achievements that have enhanced and brought honor to Ohio hospitals. These awards reflect excellent personal or organizational accomplishments within the Ohio hospital community.

Awards will be presented at the OHA Recognition Dinner on June 13 during the annual meeting in Columbus.

Hospital Caregiver Award


2016 Health Care Worker of the Year:
Richard Pulice, PA - 
Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center 

The Health Care Worker of the Year Award is presented each year to one Ohio caregiver who personifies a leader, gives back to the community, reflects the mission and values of his or her organization and routinely goes beyond the call of duty. 


  • Each hospital is permitted to nominate one individual. 
  • Health systems are encouraged to submit nominations from each of their hospitals but may select one nominee to represent the entire health system.
  • Eligible persons must be a current employee of an OHA member hospital. The nominee should be a direct caregiver but that is not a requirement. Support personnel are also eligible if they exemplify the qualities represented by this award.
  • Physicians are not eligible to receive the award.

Nominations are scored on the following criteria. A total of 60 points is possible.

- Great leader (20 points)
- Goes beyond the call of duty (20 points)
- Reflects the mission and values of his or her organization (10 points)
- Gives back to the community (10 points)

The deadline to submit 2017 nominations has passed. 

Health Care Leadership Awards

Each year, OHA honors outstanding individuals and organizations whose achievements have enhanced and brought honor
to Ohio hospitals. These awards reflect excellent personal or organizational accomplishments within the Ohio hospital
Hospitals are invited to submit nominations for those who have made a noteworthy contribution to health care in Ohio.

The deadline to submit 2017 nominations has passed. 


2016 Honoree: John Prout, retired president and CEO, TriHealth

This award recognizes and honors an individual who has made a significant lifetime contribution to the health care field in Ohio. This is the association’s highest award and bears the name of the individual who led OHA for 27 years.The award is presented to an individual with multiple years of health care service who has made a significant impact in his or her hospital, the local community AND across the state of Ohio. 

Nominees should be the CEO of an OHA member organization, either past or present. 


2016 Honoree: Randal Arnett, president and CEO, Southern Ohio Medical Center  

This award honors an individual whose professional attainments embody qualities of an outstanding leader or mentor for service to the health care community, or other special achievement. This award commemorates James Castle, OHA’s president and CEO for 23 years, from 1989 through 2011.The award is presented to an individual who has made a significant impact in his or her hospital, local community or region of the state. 

Nominees should be the CEO or other senior executive of an OHA member organization, either past or present.


2016 Honorees: 
Thomas Bleile, Board of Directors, Fisher-Titus Medical Center
D. Brent Mulgrew, executive director & co-chief executive officer, OSMA 

This award recognizes an individual or organization who has served as a friend to hospitals and health systems and whose support of the health care industry reflects the public interest. Dr. Eli R. Crew, superintendent of Dayton’s Miami Valley Hospital, was one of the strongest hospital advocates of an Ohio-based organization. In 1914, he invited Ohio hospital administrators to an organizational meeting at Cedar Point in Sandusky where OHA was founded.

Nominees should not be employed by OHA member organizations but can be hospital/health system board members or other volunteers, independent medical staff members, community members and others in the public or private sector.

OHA Hall of Fame

OHA Centennial LogoIn honor of the OHA Centennial in 2015, the association established the OHA Hall of Fame.

This recognition honors the men and women who have made significant contributions—beyond having successful organizations or careers—and have notably helped advance the interests and image of Ohio’s hospitals or health systems.

Nominees may be living or nominated for the hall of fame posthumously.

Nominations must be submitted by March 1 each year using the online nomination form. 

Any submission after March 1 will be considered for the following year.

2016 Honoree: The late Richard Doan, former administrator and CEO, Barnesville Hospital, presented to his son, TJ Doan

Patient & Occupational Safety Awards


This award recognizes demonstrated leadership in the field of occupational and employee safety. OHA member hospitals participating in both the OHA Annual Safety Award Program and the Workers' Compensation Benchmarking Program are eligible to receive this award.

2016 Honoree: University Hospitals Bedford Medical Center


Created by the Ohio Patient Safety Institute's board of trustees, the Best Practice Award recognizes a program that has demonstrated a focus on improving patient safety in a health care setting, while incorporating regional and national patient safety benchmarks and remaining unique to the Ohio health care market.

2016 Honoree:

 "Global NP culture surveillance decreases hospital acquired infections in the NICU setting"
Karen Beekman, MS, RNC-NIC, NNP-BC
Dayton Children's Hospital 

The nomination deadline has passed for 2017 Best Practice Award Submissions.


Awards are given to hospitals for successful hospital safety programs and superior employee safety records. The safety awards were created in 1953 by the Ohio Hospital Association and the Industrial Commission of Ohio to promote workplace safety. Awards are given to one hospital per bed size category with the lowest injury rate, those hospitals in the top twenty percent and the hospital with the most improved safety record. 

View the 2016 honorees

Environmental Sustainability Awards


This award recognize hospitals and health systems that demonstrate their commitment to environmental stewardship through implementing waste reduction programs, recycling initiatives and other activities to preserve the health of the planet for future generations.

Award winners will be announced in a statewide press release on Earth Day, April 22. 

View the 2016 recipients



This award recognizes a hospital or health system that has demonstrated leadership in guiding their facility toward the goals of environmental sustainability, regulatory compliance, energy efficiency, and pollution prevention, all of which are proven to result in healthier hospital workforces and communities. The John Chapman Award winner is selected from the Melvin Creeley nominees and is accepted by the CEO of the recipient hospital. 

2016 Honoree: Wright-Patterson Medical Center

© 2017 The Ohio Hospital Association. All Rights Reserved.